How a 22-Year-Old Became a Partner at a Top Venture Capital Firm

Alex Heintze
The Generation Z Entrepreneur
2 min readJun 2, 2018

--

I’m 21 years old and have had a desire to go into venture capital for a while now. But I never thought I’d be able to break into the industry until I was older and later in my career.

And then I met Adam Goldberg, a 22 year-old who is a partner at Lightspeed Venture Partners. Adam is only one year older than I am, but he is already making waves in the venture capital industry.

“Never let your age hold you back,” said Adam Goldberg.

Adam primarily invests in enterprise infrastructure, big data and analytics, datacenter technologies, the Internet of Things known as IoT, frontier technologies, and artificial intelligence.

Adam excelled in math at an early age, as he enjoyed solving puzzles and playing chess. At age 10, he attended community college to further explore his interest in math. And at age 13, he enrolled in the University of California at Berkeley. At Berkeley, he focused his time on mathematics and machine learning research. However, he quickly learned that while math was an “interesting and powerful foundation,” he felt “disconnected from the real world.”

After completing the degree requirements at Berkeley, Adam started a company and became a part of the Lightspeed Fellowship. He then attended…

--

--