How a Non-Native Copywriter Makes $55K+ on Fiverr, Charging More Than Many Natives.

Maya Sayvanova
The Startup
Published in
3 min readJun 20, 2023

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-raising-her-hands-up-while-sitting-on-floor-with-macbook-pro-on-lap-3813341/

Fiverr has 380K sellers, so take the following statement with a grain of salt. I haven’t checked everyone’s profiles.

Yet, based on what I’ve seen, I am the most successful non-native copywriter on Fiverr. I’m Top-rated & Pro-rated, which means I’m among a hand-picked group of professionals approved by Fiverr’s team. I have completed over 2000 projects, and the average value of my Fiverr orders is $300–which isn’t a lot, but it’s very good for Fiverr.

98% of my clients are from English-speaking countries, yet I’m a Bulgarian who lives in Bulgaria. I’m nothing special, either. No great talent here, if that’s what you were thinking.

So why is it that I manage to steal clients from the US, UK, Canada, and Australia, even though there are native speakers on the platform who charge less?

Stop believing the “story.”

Who’d hire a non-native copywriter? Who’d hire a copywriter based in Bulgaria? Who’d pay good money for me to write their website or their landing page?

That’s what I used to ask myself. In fact, for the first two years of my freelance career, I lied about where I’m from.

--

--

Maya Sayvanova
The Startup

6-Figure Writer | Featured in Business Insider | Helping solopreneurs succeed | Sign up here: https://rb.gy/jbwa8b