How do I achieve an 85% closing rate with investment groups? I do. Ask for what you need not what you want.

Chris Lopez
The Startup
Published in
6 min readAug 6, 2019

--

A surprising statistic people discover with me is I am usually 8 out of 10 with investment groups. Sound impossible? It’s not impossible. I hear these statements like “You have to be said no to 100 times before 1 says yes.’’ Or “Thomas Edison failed 1,000 times before he made the light bulb.”

True prospective is what Thomas Edison actually said, “I didn’t fail 1,000 times. The light bulb was an invention with 1,000 steps.” (Source: KYU)

Thomas Edison didn’t fail 1,000 times. Thomas discovered 1,000 steps to lead to one success. A failure would have been rolling out the light bulb to houses only to discover the light bulb overheats and burns houses down. Therefore there are no light bulbs in use due to their faulty designs.

If you are failing 100 times in a row or even 10 times in a row…you need to change what you’re doing. If you fail to adjust properly you might need to find someone to 1) teach you how to do it properly or 2) admit that you need help.

I play odds.

Telling someone that you have a 10% chance is not good. Telling someone you cannot even quantify your success in percentage (i.e. being said no to 100 times) is terrible. Increasing your odds to close…

--

--

Chris Lopez
The Startup

Professional Hustler turned International Best Selling Author of “I Made it Then I Didn’t”. I write Truths today to combat yesterday’s falsehoods.