How do you know abuse has happened if you don’t remember it?

Cher Aaron
The Startup
Published in
6 min readSep 2, 2019

--

photo by mikhail_kayl

And why is it important to know?

Something interesting occurred the other day. My husband and I were messing around and he slipped his hand between my legs.

Not a bad thing…I enjoyed it. It felt good.

But, my body stopped. Like I was frozen.

Every move I made after that became mechanical like I was planning it. How to move, to sound, where to touch him…all completely thought out so he would think I enjoyed it. Only…I actually was! However, the real actor exited the scene and the stunt double took her place.

The mind-boggling part is that this was the first time in my life that I noticed it happening! Now, I didn’t say it was the first time it happened. My body has always reacted this way; I am just now conscious of it.

It rocked my world a bit; to know and finally see a wall that, until now, had been completely invisible to me.

I started thinking back through my life.

I’ve seen for a long time that I have a block in certain kinds of sexual situations. I realized around the age of nineteen, that I could not stop men from doing things that I didn’t want to do. I would want to stop it, to say no.

--

--

Cher Aaron
The Startup

I write about Life because even though everyone has a life, I am the only one living mine.