How good taste attracts loyal customers

Aytekin Tank
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJan 16, 2019

--

Originally published on JOTFORM.COM

I studied her mysterious smile; the veil covering her hair; and that iconic gaze, which followed me around the room.

As others came and went, snapping their quick trophy photos, I stayed with her for nearly an hour. Try as I might, I couldn’t bring myself to love her.

“But this is Mona Lisa,” I thought to myself, “Leonardo da Vinci’s great masterpiece.”

It was my first time in Paris, and I was visiting the famed portrait in the Louvre Museum. I knew I should like it, I just didn’t. As I struggled to unlock the mystery, I found myself… underwhelmed.

It made me think: how can a work of art be profoundly moving for one person and fall flat for another?

It comes down to taste. Our taste determines a range of judgments we make every single day.

As Nietzsche put it, “All of life is a dispute over taste.”

Taste is an internal gauge of sensory experiences. Simply put, it’s our gut reaction. Our taste feels so instinctual that it’s tempting to think it’s innate — that good or bad, you’re born with a certain level of taste.

But where does taste really come from? And how, if at all, can we develop good taste?

--

--

Aytekin Tank
The Startup

Founder and CEO of www.jotform.com || Bestselling author of Automate Your Busywork. Find more at https://aytekintank.com/ (contact: AytekinTank@Jotform.com)