How I Built a Profitable Software Development Consulting Business

6 tips for starting a service-based business as a software developer

Restarone Solutions
The Startup

--

Image courtesy of Hung Do

After closing out the calendar year for 2020 and paying business taxes, I realized that the software development company I had founded during the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic had turned a profit and a healthy one at that. So I retraced my steps from when I first incorporated my business to now in an attempt to document the mistakes I made so you don’t have to do the same.

During my short journey, I have realized a few strategies that could help you if you’re thinking about starting your own consultancy as an all-star software developer. As always, the content in this article is derived from my own experiences and is not to be interpreted as financial/legal advice.

While this article may not be beneficial for the seasoned tech entrepreneur, I think it may add value if you’re looking to monetize a high-value skill by starting a consultancy.

I’m going to break-down my experiences from an accounting, hiring and branding perspective, so be sure to have a cup of coffee (or better yet, espresso) within reach.

1. Minimize startup costs (duh)

--

--

Restarone Solutions
The Startup

Restarone is the one-stop shop for turning digital dreams into reality.