How I Built a Raspberry Pi Cluster for Cheap

Will Ho
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJun 19, 2020

--

The Octopi Cluster (Originally published at ikarus.sg on June 19, 2020)

This is the first of the ‘How I built’ trilogy detailing the build process of all 3 of my clusters.

Where you are in the cluster timeline

As you may have already read in my earlier post, I built my first cluster, Octopi in April 2017 for a really superficial reason, if you haven’t read it yet, I suggest you do that for a good laugh.

Origins

I chose Octopi, the unsanctioned latin plural of the word Octopus as it’s the only word I could think of with a Pi in it. Coincidentally, the prefix ‘octo’ is also a quantifier, signifying 8 and so I thought it would be interesting to create a ludicrous 8-node Raspberry Pi cluster.

The standard pluralised form of “octopus” in English is “octopuses”. The alternative plural “octopi” is considered grammatically incorrect because it wrongly assumes that octopus is a Latin second declension “-us” noun or adjective when, in either Greek or Latin, it is a third declension noun. (Wikipedia)

Lack of budget

I had planned to have 8 nodes to fit the name but eventually found it a little too extravagant given that I was a poor student back in 2017 and I had absolutely no…

--

--

Will Ho
The Startup

Machine Learning Engineer by day, Self-hosting Addict by night. Follow me @ ikarus.sg for the latest updates.