How I designed a wedding RSVP app

Stephen McLean
The Startup
Published in
8 min readMay 31, 2019

--

Photo by Mel on Unsplash

My partner’s sister is getting married in October this year (congratulations Catriona and Darren 😊) and recently she asked me to create an app to allow her guests to RSVP for the big day.

Most of my side-projects are based on ideas of my own and made up users, so I jumped at the chance to create something for real stakeholders and users.

In this post, I would like to take you through my thought process behind designing the app, showcase the components I created, and share my design process from a developers perspective, in the hopes that other developers may learn from this project.

In a future post I will discuss how I turned these designs into reality by building the app using React & Firebase, so stay tuned for that!

What are the high-level requirements?

I started the process by sitting down to figure out what exactly the application needed to do. Given that my partner’s sister is in no way familiar with how software is created, I had to treat this process with care. My approach was to get her to visualize herself using the final product.

“Imagine you type in www.mysuperweddingsite.com. The page loads. What do you see? What do you need to be able to do?”

--

--