How I Doubled My Income By Buying Back My Time

I made more money, cut my working hours in half, and drastically improved my quality of life

Keri Savoca
The Startup
Published in
6 min readNov 18, 2019

--

In 2018, I was working two jobs (one overnight) and every dollar I made went to my rent, bills, and other expenses. The more I worked, the more exhausted I was, and the more my expenses went up.

After working for 12 hours, the last thing I wanted to do was take a 90-minute commute, cook dinner, and clean my apartment. I didn’t want to make my bed or do my laundry. I wanted to sleep the moment I walked in the door, and that’s often what I did. Right on the couch.

On weekends, I didn’t have free time. I worked extra to make up for the takeout I had gotten during the week and the parking tickets I had gotten when I couldn’t find a non-metered parking spot after an hour of circling.

I made a promise to myself: as soon as I “make it”, I’m buying back my time.

When I finally took the plunge and went to coding bootcamp, I knew I was adding a $500-a-month student loan payment to my expenses. I got a great job as a technical writer, but my expenses were still out of control and I was sleeping an average of 3 hours a night. I knew I would have $0 left over at the end of…

--

--