How I Found My Writing Niche

Leveraging talents and passions to make money as a writer

Kaylee Moser
The Startup

--

Photo by Claus Grünstäudl on Unsplash

This may seem obvious to many, but for me, finding a niche felt like a misty cloud of confusion when I first started to write for money.

My initial mistake was thinking that a niche was something that no one else was writing about. This is false. A niche is just a specific area of writing that you have expertise in. In fact, there’s probably not a topic on the planet that you could write about that literally no one else has ever written about.

The truth is, there’s a huge need for good writing. Some of the informational material about becoming a freelancer makes it seem like it’s an impossible, daunting task to find people to pay you to write. But actually, if you have knowledge in a certain area and can string together a solid sentence, you will be able to find work.

Discovering My Niche

My writing niche was right in front of my nose. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science and I worked as a software engineer for 5 years before taking the leap into freelance writing. There should probably be a giant DUH stamped on my forehead. But to me, it felt like there were so many people already writing about technology. What would make me stand out?

--

--

Kaylee Moser
The Startup

Freelance writer and host of the Sex Ed Shouldn’t Suck Podcast. I write about sex, love, relationships, and sometimes fiction.