How I Got My Agent (+ offers from 7 others)

Lauren Kay
The Startup
Published in
12 min readJun 30, 2020

--

June 2023 Update: You can order my debut novel, WE SHIP IT, here!

I can’t believe I’m writing these words: I was lucky enough to get offers of representation from eight literary agents, a month after I began querying my first manuscript.

Writing the book that brought me to this moment was the hardest thing I’ve ever done. It was a terrifying roller coaster of a ride that I stepped off of many times. I repeatedly questioned if I was mentally prepared to deal with these highs and lows on a consistent basis. If I had the talent, patience and resilience that this industry demands.

While querying, I poured through dozens of inspiring ‘How I Got My Agent’ posts. But I usually left feeling hopeless, like I would never catch up.

Because I didn’t major in writing in college or get my MFA. I didn’t start a journal when I was twelve. I didn’t write every day for ten years, and I didn’t write eight manuscripts before I began querying.

Instead, my journey involves a) a massive and public career failure, b) a ton of self-doubt and insecurity, and c) a lot of trial and error.

THE BACKSTORY

I started my first small business when I was 19 and my second when I was 23. That company took me on a wild ride — from raising hundreds…

--

--