How I Keep Track of My Freelance Work: Pitches, WIP, and Delivered

The administrative side of freelancing isn’t glamorous, but it’s necessary.

Anna Burgess Yang
The Startup

--

a filing cabinet, pop art
Image created via Midjourney

But then when it comes time to share your work, you’re scrambling to gather the published links. Or maybe you have so many drafts that the idea of finding a specific delivered piece again gives you anxiety.

As a freelance writer, I created a simple system to keep track of my work, including all work, not just client work. After all, my portfolio includes guest posts, my Substack, my writing here on Medium, and other publications. I need a centralized list of everything for easy reference.

I use Airtable for this effort, but Notion or even a Google Spreadsheet would work. The important thing is to capture the data in a way that makes it easy to sort and find later.

One very important point: Airtable is not my project management tool. For that, I use Trello. People can (and do) use tools like Airtable, Notion, and GSheet to keep track of work, but I like the visualization of Trello more.

My system in Airtable is a running log of everything I’ve done: all client deliverables, pitches, guest posts, and more.

Keep track of client deliverables

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang
The Startup

Freelance Writer. Operations Advice for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/