How I Overcame My Fear of Flying

Five Things That Helped Me Be Unafraid of Planes

Kathleen Kralowec
The Startup

--

I started my spiritual journey while I was scared of flying. I think back to the first few flights I ever took, during which the plane would invariably start jolting and shaking, and I could do nothing but sit, helplessly inter-twined with the fate of this metal tube and its other inhabitants, forced to consider my own fragile mortality, seriously considering the spiritual realm as I sat clutching my seat. You could say this was a terrific, though forced, introduction to prayer, however I am thankful I am no longer that jumpy while flying. I do still feel a small jab of fear on a plane from time to time, a moment of tension when turbulence gets rough, or feels weird, or comes on suddenly. It’s possible that we all have an underlying wariness of flight, being that it takes us so out of our element. But many of us learn strategies to overcome that nervousness, and in time become accustomed to flying, and I myself have my own set of tips and tricks.

I’ve read that 20% of the population is afraid of flying, and that it’s the second most common of phobias. I’ve met people who would love to fly, who are envious of those who can get on a plane, but who feel like they can’t do so themselves. I feel that this isn’t true, that this fear can be overcome. I know because I’ve done so myself…

--

--

Kathleen Kralowec
The Startup

I have an MFA in Digital Art & New Media from UC Santa Cruz. I like to write about art, technology and magic. I'm @consciousdust most places