How I Plan to Become a Better Writer by Goal Setting and Execution

With a heavy dose of self-exploration thrown in for good measure.

EdesRozsa
The Startup

--

A laptop with a dark screen sits next to a coffee cup, a small notepad full of writing with a pen on top, and a mobile phone.
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I want to be a better writer so I can make a living wage writing.

I want to make a living wage by writing, and I want to have done that by yesterday. Since I haven’t perfected my time machine, I’ll settle for becoming a better writer now, so that I can eventually make a living wage by writing.

To get me closer to that goal, I’m reading posts on Medium about how to be a better writer. My biggest problem seems to be that I have about 300 posts I could write, but when I sit down to write, I either can’t choose one topic, or I edit the living bleep out of my post until it takes me five hours to write one half page piece.

I’m a mother of three boys, a wife, and a person in her own right — I don’t have that kind of time for every piece I write!

So when I ran across this post about goal setting by Shaunta Grimes, I figured I’d work through the exercises she lists.

I took the Ninja Writer’s Writer Archetype Quiz.

The quiz was downloadable from a link in the post linked to by the original post, so I printed…

--

--

EdesRozsa
The Startup

I am everything that ever happened to me, in one pleasantly bizarre package: married with 3 boys, Aspie, & nerd. Ask me anything: it's always free to ask.