How I Switched from iOS to Android and I’m Enjoying It

This story is a follow up to my article How Apple is Crippling Its Old Devices with New Software.

Maciej Lipiec
The Startup

--

Recently I was so disappointed by Apple that I decided to switch from iOS to Android. I was an iPhone user for many years, starting from the iPhone 3G. I always loved the image of Apple as a maker of products for the creative professionals — designers, visual artists, musicians: “the troublemakers, the rebels”. But I think this narrative is now over, and Apple lost its touch with their former main user base. They are now all about money and they are focusing on making “premium” products for the rich people, and that's it. Good for them. Now every middle manager want to use a MacBook in their mostly PCs companies, because it’s a symbol of status today. And they are using it to just run Outlook and Microsoft Office.

Remember Vertu? The company, which was selling shitty phones in gold for the rich? It’s now bankrupt.

While prices for the Apple’s devices went up, the quality of their software hit unpredictable lows. iOS 11 has so many bugs it’s unbelievable, not to mention the recent serious security problems with MacOS and HomeKit.

--

--

Maciej Lipiec
The Startup

Digital Product Designer. Former Product Design Director at K2 Internet & Head of UX/UI at Empik Group.