How I Write So Much (9 Articles a Week)

Alongside a 9–to-5

Eve Arnold
The Startup

--

Photo by Jonathan Freeman on Unsplash

I love the morning.

Something about waking up before the house does, something about sitting in the darkness as my dogs snooze on the sofa before the world has clocked in for the day.

It feels like the world stops. It’s the stillest I feel.

These next 2 hours are mine. For these 2 hours every morning feel like I have both hands on reality. I feel like the world pauses.

I do 90% of my writing at this time. And over the years I’ve managed to write a hefty amount of content without giving up work or life. It’s been one of the best things I’ve ever done.

So if you’re wondering how I write so much, here’s how.

1. Write unattached

It was a Monday or a Thursday, the past few days have resulted in the square of zero. The words were just not coming out.

Everything was fine, nothing was going on, on the surface nothing had changed, and yet my ability to sit down and write seemly vanished. Something had shifted in my mind.

The change, on reflection, was that I was thinking too far ahead. Every word I wrote I’d delete, change or rethink. It was a painful, slow process and it wasn’t allowing my mind to flow.

--

--