How I’d Build My Writing Portfolio If I Had to Start From Scratch in 2024

Set in motion what could one day become a full-time career.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup

--

Photo by Nicole Wolf on Unsplash

I started writing online without realizing it could blossom into a full-fledged career that would allow me to live my dream life.

It all began with writing answers on Quora in 2014, followed by long-form articles on Medium in 2020. Back then, not many people were into content creation, so I had the early-mover advantage:

  • Got 500+ new followers every day
  • Received 100k+ views, thousands of upvotes and comments.
  • Bagged top writer badges on Medium and Quora.

Fast forward to 2024, the competition in the digital landscape has grown massively, with more than 400 million people creating content online.

Standing out today would require more than just a way with words.

If I had to start from scratch, I’d invest time in building a stellar portfolio as a writer that would benefit me as a beginner.

  • Give an upper hand while pitching to freelance writing clients
  • Increase chances of getting accepted into websites that pay per article
  • Prove my expertise in writing and bringing in traffic

--

--