How Instagram’s Marketing Strategies Helped Me Grow a Small Business

How I formed a new demographic for a 30-year-old business

Robert Planz
The Startup

--

Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

It is no secret that Instagram is a great place to market your business and grow your social media presence. Many companies have used social media to grow their brand and reach a demographic that traditional media just can not do. Over the past few years, it has become increasingly relevant for businesses to have a social media presence.

Growing up in a family business, I was always around people who had an amazing work ethic, determination, and truly knew the value of the dollar. One side effect of having a business for 30 years is sometimes they can be reluctant to change. As time went on I knew in order to continue to advance, my family’s business needed to start a social media presence. Instagram has built many tools to get insights for your posts and really created a way for anyone to know about your business.

I created an Instagram for my family’s small dry-cleaning business and did not think much of it. At first, the growth was small having anywhere from 40- 100 followers for about six months. Once I followed a few of Instagram’s marketing strategies, I started to get increased engagement and a rapid following. People started to follow and come back week after week to see what…

--

--

Robert Planz
The Startup

💻 Tech & Business 📱Twitter & Instagram: rplanz26