How to Use a Sketchbook to Promote Creativity

Some useful advice for visual artists on keeping a daily sketchbook

Adam Westbrook
The Startup

--

Photo by DHANYA A V on Unsplash

It took me a long time to understand this, but the day-to-day job of the artist is not ‘making art’, it is filling sketchbooks.

As Austin Kleon says, “filling my sketchbook” is a perfectly legitimate answer to the question “what are you working on right now?”

The sketchbook is a sort of creative engine: with every page, I fill the pistons make another revolution; like any engine, it works best when used often; it is hungry for fuel, meaning I have to be better at seeing and recording the world around me; the art, whatever that is, will be the by-product, the exhaust fumes of this creative combustion.

After 15 months of solid daily sketchbook-filling, here are some things I have learned.

Do not draw anything without warming-up first!

Like a pianist or an athlete, an artist’s muscles and joints need stretching — especially if you draw first thing in the morning.

As I open my sketchbook in the morning, I always fill the first page up with something to warm-up my hands.

--

--

Adam Westbrook
The Startup

Video artist working at The New York Times. I write a newsletter about visual storytelling and creativity. https://adamwestbrook.co.uk/