How Leaders Can Build Lasting Rapport With Their Teams Remotely, in Time of Crisis

As Covid-19 have most of us working WFH, here are five ways to build lasting rapport with your team members remotely.

Isabel Nyo
The Startup

--

Photo by Gabriel Benois on Unsplash

I had always thought it’d be very challenging to have a remote 1:1 with my team members, let alone build rapport with them remotely. I used to be that manager who would reschedule their 1:1’s when they were working from home on that particular day. I’ve always thought it’d be hard to connect with someone deeply on 1280 x 960 (or 1920 x 1080, size really doesn’t matter here) screen.

A few weeks ago, the company that I work for, just like many other companies in the world, started our journey of fully remote work, otherwise known as WFH, due to Covid-19. Just like that. One day, we were in the office, having lunch together, and the next day, we were in our own homes, trying to navigate this new normal. In non-ergonomic settings, no-less.

As a recovering skeptic to building real connection and rapport remotely, I’d like to share with you a few things that I’ve learned over the past few days as a leader in building rapport remotely, in time of crisis. Some perspectives, some suggestions and hopefully, some useful takeaways for you.

--

--

Isabel Nyo
The Startup

My course for engineering managers: https://gum.co/emcourse | Tools and Resources for Tech Professionals & Leaders: https://gumroad.com/eisabai