How Much Information Should You Include In A Pitch Deck You Email

brett fox
The Startup
Published in
4 min readAug 29, 2019

--

I hated, I mean, I really hated sending a pitch deck by email to an investor. I thought the odds of getting in front of an investor went way down if I gave them the pitch deck.

“It’s like seeing a movie without the soundtrack was my reasoning.” The investor was just going to get my deck, but the investor would not hear all of my commentary that added to the story.

Picture: Depositphotos

So when I was introduced to “Raul”, a very well known VC in the Silicon Valley, I was really bummed when he asked for our deck. I hoped that Raul, like most people I was introduced to, would just accept the meeting.

Despite my worry, I emailed our pitch deck to Raul. I thought I’d never hear from Raul again. Instead, the next day Raul’s assistant asked me when I would be available for a meeting.

Three meetings later, Raul agreed to invest $6M in our company. We could now close, after two years of trying, our $12M series A funding.

I asked Raul after we closed our funding why he took the initial meeting based on the deck. His answer was insightful:

“I took the meeting because I could understand what you were doing, and it was something I was interested in investing in.”

In other words, the pitch deck email…

--

--

brett fox
The Startup

I work with startup CEOs to help them grow their businesses . I built several businesses from $0 to >$100M. Learn more at https://www.brettjfox.com