How My Five-Year-Old Taught Me a $10 Billion Dollar Lesson About Entrepreneurship

Children see the world in ways adults often can’t

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup
Published in
7 min readNov 16, 2020

--

Photo by Jeremy McKnight on Unsplash

Successful entrepreneurs are good at asking questions about the world that other people never think to ask. These questions often reveal insights most people don’t see, and it’s what allows them to recognize unique entrepreneurial opportunities.

Asking these kinds of questions is a difficult skill to cultivate. However, if, like me, you also happen to be a parent of young children, then you have a secret weapon because kids are great at asking the kinds of questions grown-ups overlook. So, if you have kids, instead of disregarding their questions as “childish,” listen carefully. You’ll be surprised by what a young child can teach you.

I was reminded of this lesson one morning at the breakfast table. I sat down between my five-year-old and two-year-old daughters and was about to begin eating my usual bowl of granola and almond milk when my two-year-old began whining: “Meek! Meek! Meek!”

My five-year-old, who, for some reason, seems to understand my two-year-old better than I do, translated for me: “I think she wants some of your milk, Daddy.”

“Well, she can’t have this milk,” I explained. “It’s not her milk. It’s almond milk.”…

--

--

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup

I teach entrepreneurship at Duke. Software Engineer. PhD in English. I write about the mistakes entrepreneurs make since I’ve made plenty. More @ aarondinin.com