How Not to Treat Your Competent Software Workforce

Pen Magnet
The Startup
Published in
6 min readAug 21, 2019

--

Image by Three-shots from Pixabay

Every morning on my LinkedIn feed, I see at least 3 articles trending on how bosses should treat their newcomer / onboard / departing employees.

I see somewhat lesser number of posts also on how employees should be ethical with their employers.

Most of them belong to software companies’ work culture, and a bigger chunk of them are IT services companies.

On almost all of them, polarizing comments sabotage a healthy discussion. But they surely provide 360 degree perspective.

And they force me to think & re-think about a challenge I faced 10 years ago.

In 2009, 10 years before 996 movement, I was senior developer in fortune 500 software product company. The office schedule was 9–5, tweaked to 10–6 with everyone’s unspoken consent.

Suddenly, the office got relocated to 20 kilometers away from my residence. I couldn’t relocate due to binding rental contract.

My daily commute became 2.5 hours messy ordeal in a metropolitan city.

My boss changed too.

My office schedule became 11 AM -7 PM, which slowly turned into 12 PM–8 PM.

Sprint dashboard vouched for my unaffected productivity. I wasn’t missing any meetings or team discussions in that…

--

--

Pen Magnet
The Startup

Author of Comprehensive Approach to Senior Developer Interview), Startup writer, Programmer, Tech Career Blogger, Education Engagement Enthusiast