How Third-Party Source Code Might Be Stealing Your Ad Revenue

Fahim Farook
The Startup
Published in
4 min readOct 1, 2020

--

Photo by Mark Timberlake on Unsplash

The Last Rabbit Hole

When you are planning a new project, you might be tempted to get a leg up on the long road ahead by downloading and/or purchasing the source code to an app which does some of what you want and then modify it to get you the rest of the way.

That is a perfectly fine (and smart) way to go.

However, if you get your source code from an unknown source, you do have to beware of hidden traps.

Sounds scary and alarmist? That’s what I generally thought too 😃 My reasoning was, if it’s open source software, then it probably is scrutinized by a lot of people, so why would anybody put any harmful code in there when they would be discovered fairly quickly? And if the person was selling their source code, why would they put any malicious code in there since that would harm their reputation and impede their ability to make money?

But I was proven wrong yesterday, and I wanted to detail what happened in case this might be happening to you as well.

I like going through source code 😃 It helps me see how someone else tackled a problem. It also helps me envision how I might do things differently. So, I was going through some third-party source code which was for sale online when I found a bit of code which…

--

--

Fahim Farook
The Startup

CEO and head iPhone tinkerer at RookSoft. Mad coder and tech editor. Author of a couple of books on iOS development.