How To Achieve Personal Growth (Without Giving Up Everything In The Process)

Dr Pat Aitcheson
The Startup
6 min readMar 11, 2019

--

Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.

Rumi

Raise your hand if you’ve tried self-improvement and failed at it. I have, more times than I can count.

I recall trying self-improvement but instead of gaining anything, I lost my way.

I started working with Finding Your Own North Star by Martha Beck. My life was super stressful with work and family challenges, and I felt defeated. The idea of resetting my internal compass was very appealing.

The book asked probing questions designed to reveal my true needs and aspirations. When I reached the chapter called Getting to Yes which asked me to create a best-case scenario for my life, I choked. Literally and metaphorically. I couldn’t go on, even though Beck had written about this exact reaction. Why?

Every positive scenario I thought of completely excluded the major elements of my life.

Whether it was work, family, or friends, I simply could not imagine how to improve my life without cancelling everything and starting with a clean slate. And I couldn’t cancel my life. So I was paralysed; unable to…

--

--

Dr Pat Aitcheson
The Startup

Writer, physician, lifelong learner dedicated to telling the stories all around us. Free guide Unleash Your Creativity at 2squarewriting.com. Words are magic.