How to Attend an Online Job Event

Pen Magnet
The Startup
Published in
5 min readOct 1, 2020

--

Photo by Chris Montgomery on Unsplash

During pandemic, I had to attend a job fair + an online workshop. In both of them, I got an opportunity to network with other participants and event stakeholders.

However, being unfamiliar with an online event format, I made a few mistakes. Precisely due to that, I failed to secure a job.

I share them here, to prevent you from failing for the wrong reasons.

#1: Have Your 1-Page CV Ready:

Irrespective of your experience level, you need a robust not-more-than-1-page CV handy, preferably on your mobile.

If you are senior in the industry, it is recommended to have multiple 1-page copies of your CV.

If you are a senior professional, it is quite obvious you have an enormous skillset, combined with diverse roles. How do you shorten it beyond certain limit?

In that case, it is recommended to have multiple 1-page copies to properly split your skills across various domains.

I am a programmer. I keep 3 CVs on my computer, each of them highlighting my various abilities to different extent.

  • In one of them, I highlight my latest cloud skills.
  • In another one, I describe my decade-old…

--

--

Pen Magnet
The Startup

Author of Comprehensive Approach to Senior Developer Interview), Startup writer, Programmer, Tech Career Blogger, Education Engagement Enthusiast