How to Become a Web Developer — Writing Your First Web Application

Mikhail Raevskiy
The Startup
Published in
8 min readAug 13, 2020

--

Where to begin? This is perhaps the most common question asked by all newcomers to IT. There are so many sites around that offer all kinds of courses, and the popularity ratings of languages ​​change frequently. But even if you have already decided what to study, finding a competent source of information becomes an even bigger problem.

Problem of choice

Usually, for many, acquaintances who already work in IT become such a source. How did you start? What did you read? What to study? Where to look? Do you need to buy courses? Often, most of the questions remain unanswered.

As for me, my path to programming was difficult and thorny, despite the fact that I have an IT education. Part of my life after graduation was spent within the walls of one company, where my duties were reduced to the Enikeian ones.

Then a period came in my life during which I practically did not touch the laptop and, as a result, completely lost my experience. Development technologies change so quickly that such a long five-year break greatly affected the value of the knowledge that I had.

Based on my experience, I can say that for the first job you need to have an idea of ​​algorithms, know several data structures, understand what variables are, and…

--

--

Mikhail Raevskiy
The Startup

Bioinformatician at Oncobox Inc. (@oncobox). Research Associate