How To Break A Negative Thought Loop

“It’s pretty black-and-white. You either let go or you don’t.”

Darius Foroux
The Startup
Published in
4 min readJul 21, 2019

--

Sometimes a small thing disturbs me. Somebody might say something that rubs me the wrong way. I might get a minor injury that prevents me from working out. Something at work might go wrong.

Do you know that feeling? Before you know it, you’re questioning everything about your life, career, health, or relationship.

You do everything to resist the situation. You try to fix it. You feel compelled to address the disturbance. But here’s the thing, you don’t control the disturbance.

That frustrates you even more. Now, you’re getting sucked in by negative thoughts. At this point, something that started as a small annoyance became a big life problem.

You feel like quitting your job or relationship. You feel like everything works against you. And that nothing is worth it.

That’s a negative thought loop. I’ve experienced that very often. And I bet you have too. Why do we experience this?

It’s about control. We think life should be a certain way. In other words, we want everything to happen the way we want. And if it doesn’t, we flip out. Negative thought loops often start when something comes to an end. Have you noticed that?

--

--

Darius Foroux
The Startup

I write about productivity, habits, decision making, and personal finance. Join my free weekly newsletter here: dariusforoux.com/wise-wealthy