How to Build a Great Company

Hire the A-Players, Not Your Friends

Chris Soschner
The Startup

--

ChatGPT Image Prompted by Author

Want your startup to fail? Start mixing business with friendship.

This is a problem that has eliminated the majority of companies early in the process. It’s a trap I’ve seen countless entrepreneurs fall into.

Just last week, I was talking to a founder who was struggling to scale his business. He had a great idea, a talented team, and even some early traction. But he was hitting a wall.

“What’s the biggest challenge you’re facing right now?” I asked him.

He sighed. “It’s my team,” he admitted. “We’re just not firing on all cylinders. There’s a lack of motivation, communication breakdowns… it’s affecting everything.”

As we dug deeper, it became clear that the root of the problem was his hiring strategy. He had built his team primarily based on friendships and personal connections, rather than on skills and experience.

“I thought it would be great to work with my friends,” he explained. “I trusted them, and I knew we’d have fun.”

But the reality was far from his initial vision. The lines between friendship and business had blurred, creating a toxic environment where accountability was lacking and difficult conversations were avoided.

--

--

Chris Soschner
The Startup

👉 Want Insights from Top Entrepreneurs and Investors? Tune into my podcast to hear from industry leaders. https://beginnersmind.buzzsprout.com/