How to Build a Strong Morning Routine: The Essential Guide

Danny Forest
The Startup
Published in
11 min readApr 5, 2019

--

At the time of writing this, I’ve been out of the strong routines that have allowed me to thrive for months. I had been on vacation for a month, then I got sick and was bedridden for a week, then I came back to Canada, moving from one home to the next.

Needless to say, my productivity tanked. I even made half the money I usually make during the last two months. Therefore, I can’t stress that enough:

A strong morning routine sets you up for a productive day, leading to more wins. More wins raise your motivation and allow you to accomplish your goals with greater ease.

But let me get this straight, in this guide, I will not tell you at what time to wake up as it is essentially useless to put everyone on the same boat. We’re all in different situations and my ideal time to wake up can’t be the same for you.

This guide instead focuses on principles that allow anyone to build a routine that works for them. For the most part, these principles are timeless and can be revisited months and years away and still work.

What is a morning routine?

--

--

Danny Forest
The Startup

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.