How to Build an Audience Using a Lean Startup Strategy

“Build-Measure-Learn feedback loop is at the core of the Lean Startup model.” — Eric Reis, The Lean Startup

Doug Antin
The Startup
Published in
4 min readJun 9, 2020

--

Many writers are like entrepreneurs. They think success happens overnight with a fully designed masterpiece. But like entrepreneurs, most writers must pivot to find success.

This was true of my experience. It took me a long time until I learned to test my ideas first before committing time and energy to the winners.

This trial and error reminded me of Eric Reis’ Lean Startup innovation strategy. Ie: You can learn what your audience wants by creating an MVP strategy. I now ask myself, how can I most effectively test content ideas without overcommitting to an unproven niche?

Here’s my MVP approach to content exploration.

The Main Idea

Your goal, in the beginning, is to explore a wide range of ideas. You can explore content areas by writing short and broad articles. These are intended to get quick feedback, zero in on niche topics, and use as few resources as possible.

The lesson of the MVP is that any additional work beyond what was required to start learning is…

--

--