How to Close New Clients in Your LinkedIn DMs (Without Being “Salesy”)

It’s easier than you think

Scott Stockdale
The Startup

--

Photo by Sam Lion on Pexels

When I started writing full-time, I thought I had to send hundreds of job applications to land freelance clients.

The truth is you don’t.

While I’ve gone down this route in the past (with success), I’m learning that most business doesn’t happen like this.

It happens in your DMs.

Best of all? You don’t have to be “salesy” to close new clients when they approach you.

So before I share an action plan to help you close clients on LinkedIn, here are two examples.

Example #1: “I saw our common connection Tim left you a great review.”

A couple of weeks ago, a businesswoman slid into my DMs:

Screenshot from my LinkedIn DMs

“I saw our common connection Tim left you a great review.”

She’s referring to a LinkedIn testimonial that Tim Denning wrote for me.

--

--

Scott Stockdale
The Startup

Writer & SEO Instructor | 1M+ views on Medium | Host of Entrepreneurs Can Party 🎉 scottstockdale.co.uk