How to contribute to open source

A guide on how to get started with open source contribution

Rafiullah Hamedy
The Startup

--

In this article, I will briefly show you how I contributed to the following open source projects

I will also share why its important to contribute, lessons I have learned so far, how did I get started, what is my contribution strategy and motivations, as well as some examples of my contributions to date.

Why contribute to open source?

We use open-source software on every step of our development, and it is a moral thing to contribute back. StackOverflow surveys in the past few years indicate that the percentage of those contributing to open source is increasing

According to a 2016 Future of Open Source Survey Results by BlackDuck, around 67% of participation in open source has been to fix bugs and add new features, and 59% of developers participate in open source to gain a…

--

--

Rafiullah Hamedy
The Startup

Staff software developer • Love to write • Over 250K views • Connect on linkedin.com/in/rhamedy • Medium referral https://medium.com/@rhamedy/membership