A young lady smiling lovingly at her own reflection in the mirror
Wouldn’t it be nice if you loved the one person with whom you spent your entire life? Picture by Bruce Mars Pexels

How to Convert Self-Discipline into Self-Love

Shifting your perception paves the bridge between love and discipline.

Nabil Alouani
Published in
6 min readNov 12, 2019

--

Self-discipline is the ability to control ourselves in order to do things we know we should do even when we don’t want to. It’s about behaving in a particular way without needing anyone else to tell us what to do.

For years, “No pain, no gain” has been my motto. I firmly believed that beating myself up to improve was the way to go. I’d go to the gym even when I’m injured, I’d stay late at the office even if nothing is left to do. I’d stay up at night working on personal projects and wake up before dawn to arrive before my clients and bosses.

As you already noticed, my definition of self-discipline turned into something like “the only path to improvement is constant suffering”.

Then, one day I got sick. Really sick. I was home alone. I had a fever. At some point, I could no longer move my right arm. My breath was so hot that it hurt to exhale. My body was burning from the inside. I couldn't sleep. I was in pain and scared. I thought that maybe if I slept I won’t wake up the next morning. Funnily enough, it gave me plenty of time to think.

The next day, I forced myself to book an appointment with the doctor. Then I called my family. For once, I told…

--

--

Nabil Alouani

I drink coffee and write prompts || 100% human-generated content || Weekly mails: https://nabilalouani.substack.com