How to Create the Direction You Need to Succeed in Life

Your Direction is the Map for Your Life and Success

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJan 16, 2020

--

“The direction we create is the map for our journey from our present to the future.” — Jack Heimbigner

Recently, my parents took a road trip from Washington state to Dallas, Texas. They were so excited to be on the open road. It was the first big road trip they had taken in a while and it was for my brother’s wedding so the anticipation was brewing inside of them.

My dad had his truck ready to go with all the supplies, new tires, and everything they might need. He had their trip mapped out three different ways depending on the weather. And he knew all the places they wanted to stop and see along the way.

He spent months planning and talking about his plans for this trip.

And my dad is a planner. While he sometimes seems aloof and silly, he is always planning. He has a path mapped out no matter the circumstances, most of the time, and it is one of the characteristics I believe he instilled in me. Even if I didn’t actually take hold of them until I was 24 years old.

The interesting thing is that many people are like 24 years old me. They don’t really have a plan to get from…

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Startup

#1 Bestselling Author of 15 books on Amazon | Helping people go from writers to authors, let's chat: https://calendly.com/jrheimbigner/30min