How To Defeat Purposelessness

This May Be Just As Important As Finding Your Purpose

Erik Brown
The Startup

--

Photo by Finding Dan | Dan Grinwis on Unsplash

Many people in the world feel as if they have no purpose. I’m not telling you anything you didn’t already know. It would only take a quick Google search to find that depression rates are on the rise. CNBC recently did an article about this as well showing that adolescents are at the biggest risk.

The high sales of antidepressants would confirm the idea that depression is on the rise. According to CBS News the number of Americans who’ve taken an antidepressant over the past month rose by 65% between 1999 and 2014.

Now, this is pretty grim way to start an article, but I do this for a reason. It’s to highlight the importance of defeating purposelessness in people’s lives. You’ll find a number of articles online and coaches of this and that who will explain how to find your purpose. However, I think just as much time should be spent on conquering purposelessness.

I already know what you’re thinking. If I find my purpose, I’ll defeat purposelessness!

You’d be correct. That is true. But, what about those who can’t find their purpose? What about those struggling to find their purpose? Should they be punished by purposelessness in the meantime?

--

--