Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

How to Do Something You Really Don’t Want to Do, But Have To

SK Camille
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 20, 2019

--

There are times when something is staring you in the face and all you want to do is walk away — ignore the issue, hope it will go away somehow.

Like, ending a relationship. Talking to someone about a sensitive subject. Confessing to something you’re ashamed of. Admitting to yourself that you just can’t make ends meet and are going to have to ask for help, or even be homeless for a while.

Or it could be a task you can’t avoid that involves a large amount of effort, or having to experience unpleasantness or pain. Or it could be an action or a change that just scares the bejeesus out of you.

I’ve had to do all of these things, and I know how challenging it can be. You can get driven right to the edge of what you feel able to handle and do.

For example, I had to leave a six-year relationship with a man who was emotionally and practically dependent on me, and I was financially dependent on him, but staying was killing me.

Later, I had to walk away from land I’d bought, where I wanted to build a house, because I lost my biggest freelance client. It ultimately meant being homeless, living in my truck or crashing with friends and family, for two years.

--

--

SK Camille
The Startup

I cover general-interest professional topics in clear, actionable briefs. I also write about change, growth, and faith with warmth and optimism.