How to Eliminate the Post-Grad Work Blues

Having a hard time finding the ‘perfect’ job right after graduation? This can help.

Mobeen Lalani
The Startup
5 min readJul 23, 2019

--

Graduating from university/college and not finding a job in your field can be disappointing.

Graduating from university/college and finding a job but one which isn’t within your career objective can still be disappointing.

But should it be disappointing?

I recently graduated with a science degree in hopes that I would find a job within health research immediately. Searching for opportunities constantly, applying to them, and connecting with people on LinkedIn to see how others did it became a routine.

My hopelessness scale started to rise and I felt as though I needed to reevaluate my personal and/or career goals.

As rejections kept coming in, the scale started to rise even more and demotivation started to settle. I started to question my experience, my degree, or whether I would ever find a job in what I studied.

Yet, on a warm Tuesday afternoon, things took a turn.

While on the subway trying to mind my own business, I overheard a couple of people across from me talking about recruiting, specifically recruiting students. From hearing phrases like embracing your skills to self-realization to work experience, as soon as I got off of the subway, I took out my journal and wrote down the sentence that inspired me the most from their conversation.

“University/college will help you build on your hard skills, but you need to work hard to develop your soft skills to be an asset in your job. This can only happen when you dedicate your time to a part-time job, interning, or volunteering and not being so focused on getting the highest position right after graduation.”

As soon as I finished writing this, my face went into the thinking face emoji. Instantly reevaluating how I had gone upon searching for the ‘right’ job in the first place.

I had to alter my approach while keeping my passions and interests in check. I had to self-reflect to recognize the skills I needed to improve on and look for a part-time job, internship, or volunteer position which could help me build on them. I had to be investing my time in growth.

Being at home wasn’t going to help me develop my skills, nor help me grow and learn new things. I needed to change that.

Photo by Todd Quackenbush on Unsplash

Now here’s where things got a little messy.

Working a job different from the job you aspire to can put you in a difficult position. Yet, looking at how you can benefit from the situation and giving yourself options can set your intentions and make you more focused.

Here were mine:

Option #1

Find any job and dread it. Work the 9am-5pm shift and show that I didn’t want to be there. Stay within my bubble, and limit the conversations I had. Try to get out of there as soon as possible.

OR

Option #2

Find a job I’d be uncomfortable in. Make the most out of my time being in that position. Carry a positive attitude and encourage conversations. Find ways to present my skills and learn new ones. Self-advocate for my work and skills.

I chose option 2.

I decided to apply to positions which required the skills I already carried, helped me generate a feasible income, and had new learnings. After connecting with colleagues who were already working (who could also vouch for my skills), I found a job, and luckily enough in an industry, I had never been exposed to in my life.

This was probably the smartest decision I made right after graduating.

Here’s the list of reasons why that was the best decision I made and why it could help you launch into your career indirectly.

#1 Boosted personal growth and development.

Working a job which may not be among the jobs you aspire to be doing can be seen as a placement through which you improve the hard and soft skills you carry, simultaneously learning new ones you may have never possessed. As a by-product, you can self-advocate for yourself and have others rooting for you.

#2 Opportunity for experiential learning.

In my opinion, the best type of learning.

By being at the job, you take the initiative to become a learned person. A knowledge seeker. You want to develop a new skill set and learn new life lessons along the way as you apply your knowledge.

#3 Presented new opportunities.

You may start working an entry-level position, but who knows, you may climb the ladder into a position where your skills are recognized and present you with opportunities you never thought you’d be in.

#4 Generating a Source of Income.

Making money is important.

Especially if you took a student loan. Working towards learning how to money manage will help you in the future. Understanding your needs and wants can help you differentiate between your immediate priorities and long-term goals. Guide you to starting saving (for short term) and investing (for long term).

#5 Connecting and growing your network.

Think of it as your real-time resume.

The people working around you will know your working style the best. You’ll be able to reach out to them to support you as you work towards your future aspirations by providing you with references or thinking of you when something comes up. Use this as a means to develop a ‘fan base’ that will support you because of your hard work.

Even though the job I was doing didn’t fall under my interests, it was a job that contributed to my personal development and helped me be knowledgeable in areas, otherwise, I would’ve never been exposed to. Now it’s up to me to take the experience and learned skills to build on my career objectives.

With that, it’s also your turn to take the post-grad blues and turn them into post-grad wins.

--

--

Mobeen Lalani
The Startup

First Gen. Creative storyteller. Personal blogger. Speaker. Loves: Health and Tech., Design and Strategy, Music and Soul.