How to Find Your Artistic Voice and Why It’s Important for Success

From writing to digital art, your artistic voice is what sets you apart and draws followers to you.

Catherine McNally
The Startup

--

A blonde woman in a red hoodie screams.
Photo by Jan Kopřiva from Pexels

“I feel like all I do is copy other artists,” my friend told me the other morning.

My friend is a talented painter who clearly has a passion for improving her skills. (I should clarify, she’s never once claimed a copied piece of art as her own.) But she‘s too afraid to drop the training wheels and create wholly original art.

Should she stop copying?

Despite her fear that she’ll forever be a copycat, imitating other artists is key to building her own artistic style.

I used my painter friend as an example here, but developing style, or voice, is important for all types of artists. This quality is what attracts (or repels) followers. And most, if not all, artists spend their entire careers chasing a voice they can call their own.

You already have a style

If you think your writing, art, photography, or anything you create has no style, you’ve underestimated yourself.

When interviewed by Lisa Congdon for her book “Find Your Artistic Voice,” illustrator and founder of Creative Pep

--

--

Catherine McNally
The Startup

Creator, writer, artist. 🎨 I write about sustainable productivity, rest, and clawing your way out of burnout.