How To Find Your True Self

The Art Of Self-Observation

Brian Pennie, PhD
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJan 16, 2019

--

Eckhart Tolle is a spiritual teacher and author of The Power of Now, widely regarded as one of the most influential spiritual books of our time. At the age of 29, he experienced a profound inner transformation that radically changed the course of his life.

One night, not long after his 29th birthday, he woke up in the early hours with a feeling of absolute dread. He had previously battled with anxiety and suicidal depression, but it was more intense than ever before, and he began to question his reason for living. As he played with the idea of suicide, the same thought kept repeating itself in his mind:

“I cannot live with myself any longer.”

He suddenly became aware of what a peculiar thought this was. “Am I one or two? If I cannot live with myself, there must be two of me: the ‘I’ and the ‘self’… maybe only one of them is real.”

He was so stunned by this bizarre realization that his mind stopped. He was fully conscious, but there were no more thoughts. He was then drawn into what seemed like a vortex of energy, and could feel himself being sucked in. Suddenly, there was no more fear, and he let himself fall into the void.

--

--

Brian Pennie, PhD
The Startup

Change is possible. I write to show that | Recovered heroin addict turned doctor. www.brianpennie.com