How to Get Connected to All the Right People Even When You Don’t Have Any Contacts

The strategy I used to go from a “nobody” to a “somebody”

Kevin Ervin Kelley, AIA
The Startup

--

Pixabay: Free to use (CC0)

No matter what city I’ve lived in or traveled to, every community has the established neighborhoods where the old crusty money lives. These are the folks who went to all the right schools, have memberships at the most exclusive clubs, and deep roots in the community.

But despite their pedigree, mansions, and financial clout, the real power they possess comes from their connections.

The “well-connected” have friends in high placesin government, academia, and business. And all they have to do is make one call or give a slight wink and a nod at a meeting, and stuff just happens—while the rest of us stand in the back of the bureaucratic line.

I went to college with the offspring of many of these well-to-do individuals. And while my parents gave me a fancy pen as my graduation gift, the rich kids received a silver platter of contacts to use as they wish.

Picking what they want from this smorgasbord of connections opened doors to the best graduate schools, job interviews, and access to capital. But despite my tone, I’m not bitter about any of this. They made good use out of the extra helpings they got in the…

--

--

Kevin Ervin Kelley, AIA
The Startup

I’m a retail architect that studies human behavior, perception, and decision-making. I’m fascinated with the intersection of where commerce and community meet.