How to Get Ideas Flowing Like Never Before

Writing advice to finish your articles faster and better this upcoming year — lessons from 2019

Lance Luther
The Startup

--

Photo by Forest Simon on Unsplash

Last year was my first year writing here on Medium as well as other places online, and although I haven’t written any deal-making pieces or articles with a crazy high amount of reads, something that I have been able to do consistently throughout the previous year is to write a succinct yet powerful piece of writing, with quality and packed with advice, in a short amount of time. I discovered a little trick that allowed me to finish quickly and effectively, rarely at a pause being stuck for ideas. This pattern was something that happened upon me, but it is definitely something that you can set out to accomplish yourself, and I want to share my creative process with you so that you will be able to write faster, write better, and write more throughout this upcoming year.

Part 1: The Idea

Ideas are the core of our writing. As an article is based on a thesis, whether that thesis is explicit or implicit, a thesis is based on an idea, which needs to be conveyed through the writing. Yet, many of us struggle to come up with an original idea, or something that we believe will not only interest others but also impact them. Something that I discovered early on in…

--

--

Lance Luther
The Startup

A multidisciplinary writer exploring topics in finance, writing, self-psychology, health, medicine, film, entrepreneurship, science, and technology.