How to Get Your First Writing Job on Upwork

5 tips that took me from constant rejection to a steady income

Zak Kann
The Startup

--

A woman writing on her laptop computer
Photo by Daria Nepriakhina on Unsplash

Upwork is a great way to make some extra money as a writer. Unlike some other writing platforms, there is no cost or waiting period for offering your services on Upwork.

They also take care of everything to do with payments, so you don’t need to create invoices, chase down clients that are slow with payments, or handle online payment processing.

The downside to Upwork being so easy is that everyone seems to have created an account. It’s typical for 20+ people to submit proposals for a job. Because of this, many of the jobs end up paying a mockingly low rate. I’ve seen some as low as $0.002 per word for content that required heavy research!

I’ve been on both sides of the Upwork divide. Back when I ran a startup, I hired clients for creative and technical jobs. Now, I offer my services as a freelance content writer on the site, making roughly $260 per week while only working 6 hours per week.

I didn’t start off making that much, though. For my first few weeks on Upwork, I had a 100% rejection rate on my proposals.

Here’s how I turned my luck around and started making money on Upwork.

1. Become an SEO Expert

--

--

Zak Kann
The Startup

Business and technology writer • Let me give you a role in your customer’s story • https://zakkann.com