How To Grow Your Email List To 1,000 Subscribers In 12 Weeks (Or Less) In 2024.

A real-world case study of how I grew my email list from 0–2,700+ subscribers in less than 12 months.

Michael Lim
The Startup

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Your email list is the most valuable business asset you own.

An article by Foundr found that with a 3,800% ROI, email marketing sits as the king of online revenue.

Here are some other benefits:

  • You own it forever.
  • There’s no algorithm to compete with.
  • You can’t be canceled or shadowbanned.
  • You can sell directly to your audience.

Any good online business has an email list.

I started building my email list in May 2023 with 0 subs and currently have 2,700+ subscribers with a 40% open rate. But your first 1,000 subscribers can be the hardest to get.

Here’s how to build one and get your first 1,000 subscribers.

Step #1: Find a traffic source

Find a platform with a growing audience.

For me, this is Medium, LinkedIn, and Instagram. I primarily write content on Medium and repurpose and recut my content on LinkedIn and Instagram.

--

--

Michael Lim
The Startup

I help 9-5 workers start a one-person business without quitting their jobs. Start building your 1-person biz here -> https://michaellim.ck.page/crashcourse 🚀