How to Know If You’re a Great Leader

One skill most leaders don’t have…

Dr. Eugene K. Choi
The Startup

--

Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

Death Taught Me A Big Lesson About Leadership

I have a neighbor whose daughter is the same age as my son.

Their birthdays are two days apart and they’d play outside with each other often.

And not too long after her 5th birthday, her mother passed away after a multi-year battle with cancer.

That night, me and my three kids were goofing around at home giggling. But across the street, there was a family mourning.

And then it hit me.

There are two realities happening at the same time.

The one with me and my family. And the one with my neighbor’s daughter who just became a single-parent family.

Many Realities Exist at The Same Time

People who have trouble accepting and respecting this fact turn out to be poor leaders.

They tend to speak more than they listen.

But the greatest leaders know how to do this one thing.

They’re able to feel the discomfort of holding opposing realities at the same time in the mind.

--

--

Dr. Eugene K. Choi
The Startup

Using neuroscience + technology to help entrepreneurs eliminate overwhelm, anxiety, and procrastination. FREE training series: https://destinyhacks.co