How to Learn New Programming Language With No Books and Tutorials

A tested recipe for fast learning

Rahuldeb Das, Ph. D
The Startup

--

Photo by Pablo Heimplatz on Unsplash

Technology keeps changing at a fast pace. We need to catch the speed. Otherwise, our skills will be obsolete. So, as a professional, we need strategies to cope up in this changing scenario. Fast learning capability can be a big savior in this case.

I learned the R package and SPSS while I was in university. During my research tenure, I had to learn MATLAB. I had some knowledge of C programming too. But I had never encountered Python. It was like an alien programming language to me until five years back.

I had the impression that Python is more suitable for professionals from a hardcore programming background. It was not my cup of tea.

When I started my journey as a data scientist, I used to work with R and Excel. Taking data files in Excel CSV (Comma Separated Value) format, I used to import them in the R package for analysis. Once the analysis is done, I would again export those results in the form of CSV files. I would do some post-processing in Excel to make it understandable for the business users.

But the situation changed after a few years. I was facing challenges for increased data volume. It required me to read data from an S3 location in AWS from multiple CSV files in…

--

--

Rahuldeb Das, Ph. D
The Startup

enthusiast of data science and artificial intelligence, writer of his own knowledge and experience, aspirant of personal growth, curious about human life