How to Make Simple Interactive Buttons in Figma in 2 Steps

I just started using Figma full-time a few months ago. Late to the game, I know. But even being late to the game hasn’t stopped me from trying to play.

Mike Gorrell
The Startup

--

Pro tip: Can’t read this article and want to become a Medium member? Sign up here to become a member.

Like many other product designers, I was a Sketch user for the past few years. It’s easy to learn and understand, I liked integrating with InVision for building prototypes, and features like auto-stacking with Anima made it easy to work with more dynamic content.

Then I joined the crew over at Y Media Labs, a team that has completely migrated over to Figma. I had dabbled in it a bit, but never used it as my primary tool. It was sink or swim for me. And that’s when I realized that Figma is simple, easy, and powerful as all get out. In just a couple weeks I found myself not only understanding how to design like before, but also uncovering some “Figma hacks” to really bring my prototypes to life. Here’s one that I’m really digging these days:

--

--

Mike Gorrell
The Startup

Senior Product Designer. Junior at a lot of other things.