How to make the most of your internship

Dasani Madipalli
The Startup
6 min readMay 23, 2020

--

Over the course of my 4 years in college I had 3 different internships! All of these experiences were quite distinct and I absolutely loved all of them. I worked as a Engineering Practicum intern at Google, Program Manager intern at Microsoft and Software Engineering intern at Khan Academy.

Ideally I would have never graduated and just kept doing different internships one after the other — but eventually those student loans added up and I was forced to graduate and get a “real” job.

Making it to the Khan Academy intern page is still one of my greatest accomplishments!

All my experiences taught me something different and I learnt a lot, lived in different places and made some amazing friends. However, internships are a short period of time and it’s easy to lose sight of how awesome the experience, and spend all your time figuring out how to impress your manager and convert your internship into a return offer (I speak from experience).

Here are my thoughts on how you can make the most of your time!

Figure out what you want

Before you start your internship think about what your ideal outcome should be and what you want to learn from it. Internships are just a couple of months long…

--

--

Dasani Madipalli
The Startup

☁️ Powered by doodles and dreams 👩🏿‍💻 M.Arch@ UVA & Ex-Microsoft Learn along with me!