How to Make the Risk of Starting Your Own Business Doable

Don’t Quit Your Daydream (Or Your Day Job)

Lori Bumgarner Béen, Career Coach
The Startup

--

I used to have a full-time job with benefits with a very prestigious university. I later quit to pursue my own freelance business.

However, it wasn’t so cut and dry.

There were (and still are) a lot of layers to pursuing a dream of working for myself.

The process I went through looks a lot more realistic (and doable) than some of the mythical stories you hear these days about making the jump from working for a boss to becoming your own boss.

This process can also spark some ideas for you to realistically take the risk too.

It may even help ease some of your fears and concerns preventing you from taking the leap. Here’s my story that began about 10 years ago.

Don’t Quit Your Day Job

For the first time in my career as a college career adviser, my creativity was being stifled under new leadership. I was also experiencing a lot of micromanagement under this new leadership.

I couldn’t continue to work under both conditions and had to start planning an exit strategy.

--

--

Lori Bumgarner Béen, Career Coach
The Startup

Helping you who feel stuck in your career get unstuck & put your purpose & passion into action. yourpassioninlife.com | paNASH | SUP enthusiast | basketball fan