How to Make Working from Home Work for You

Mike Speer
The Startup
Published in
7 min readDec 12, 2019

--

I love where I work. I can stay up brainstorming or writing at my desk until 3 a.m. if I want to or I can take a morning off to have brunch with my family. It takes me less than a minute to walk to my office, and my son sometimes likes to join and work alongside me. (He’s the best coworker I’ve ever had.)

That’s what it’s like to work from home.

Mentioning that I work remotely tends to get mixed reactions. Some people ask how I ever get anything done, and others ask how they can find a work-from-home job for themselves.

I know it doesn’t work for everyone. Some people are just too distractible and can’t function in a remote environment. However, for others, it’s just a matter of setting yourself up for success with a few simple hacks to make your home office into a productive place to work:

Separate Your Work Space from Your Home Space

While the temptation to work from under a pile of blankets may be strong, you need to actually get out of bed to work (even when you work from home).

A common mistake among remote workers is failing to draw a clear line between the spaces they work and the spaces they live in. Working from the couch, at the kitchen table, or in your bedroom are all terrible ideas for two reasons: 1.)…

--

--

Mike Speer
The Startup

An Entrepreneur since before the average person knew what that even meant. Let’s discuss how I can help with your organization’s biggest challenges.